Result: Hemingford Red 10 Sawtry 2

Our first match of 2015 was played in very wet and cold conditions but ultimately ended in a comprehensive victory. The team began very well and two goals inside the first 4 minutes from Robert McCrossan (one with his left and one with his right foot) both from corners taken by Leon Tinker gave us the perfect start. The conditions were difficult to play in but to the boys credit they played some very good football, passing and moving plus playing some great through balls beyond the Sawtry defence. Kai Hickinson was a threat down the right side, Ciaran Lyne caused the Sawtry defence problems and Jordan Ciliberto was linking play well from midfield to attack. Ciaran Lyne's persistence enabled him to score our third goal and not long after Robert McCrossan struck a sweet shot for his hat-trick and our fourth. Leon Tinker then hit a powerful shot to put us 5-0 up with only 20 minutes gone. Sawtry to their credit kept going and scored two quick goals to pull the score back to 5-2. Dan Phillips then scored a fine solo goal to ensure there was no comeback from Sawtry and soon afterwards Tom Lynn hit a great dipping shot to give us a 7-2 lead at half-time. The pitch conditions got worse in the second half and the boys continued to play good football plus showing great determination. It was that determination which Dan Phillips possessed to make it 8-2 before Jordan Ciliberto deservedly got on the scoresheet with two goals, again determination shown in getting to the ball before the Sawtry goalkeeper when it appeared unlikely. This was the end of the scoring giving us a 10-2 win. Robert McCrossan was man of the match not only for scoring a hat-trick and giving an all round solid performance, but also for setting the tone for the match with two early goals through his great desire and timing from corners. It was an all-round terrific display from the whole team; Spencer Cordery, Jake Hooper, Harvey Cantrell, Bertie Kemp, Kai Hickinson, Dan Phillips, Leon Tinker, Robert McCrossan, Tom Best, Jordan Ciliberto, Ciaran Lyne, Logan Wareing, Ethan Pettit, Tom Lynn, Brandon Jack.